Well folks, this weekend was a rough one for predictions.  I overestimated one movie and grossly underestimated another.  Whoops…..

Also, this weeks breakdown is a little bit late because the weekend estimates were a bit close and I wanted to wait until the actual’s came in.  Plus, you know, that Thor Trailer dropped this morning and that may have distracted me a little bit….

Enough excuses! Let’s get into in!

#1 – Boss Baby – $26,363,488 – 47.5% Drop

Boss-Baby-poster
Born leader?  Apparently so…..

Don’t under estimate the Boss Baby like I keep doing.  I truly did not expect this movie to hang on to the top spot with “Smurfs: The Lost Village” debuting and “Beauty and the Beast” dropping a sing along version on 1,200-ish screens.  At this point I have to admit some personal bias against this movie, I had and have absolutely no desire to see this movie or even take my three year old daughter to it and I have clearly projected that complete disinterest on to the general movie going public.  This movie just isn’t my thing but it clearly has an audience after grossing $89.4 million domestically and $110.8 million internationally after just two weeks.  If “The Fate of the Furious” wasn’t debuting this coming weekend, I’d probably predict this to take the top spot again.

#2 – Beauty and the Beast – $23,652,605 – 47.9% Drop

Beauty-Beast-2017-Movie-Posters
I don’t care how much money this movie makes, it was unsettling to see “Legion’s” Dan Stevens play the Prince….

I’m really surprised that the sing along version didn’t keep “Beauty and the Beast” from dropping as much as it did but like I said in this week’s predictions, it wasn’t promoted at all from what I can tell. Not that that’s hurting it’s over all box office run.  Belle and Co. are only $23.7 million away from cracking the $1 billion mark globally, which it will probably do over the course of the week.

#3 – Smurfs: The Lost Village – $13,210,449 – New Release

smurfs
Oh Smurf……

Well…..  I whiffed hard on this one. I expected the new kid on the block to reign supreme over it’s family friendly brethren for it’s opening weekend but apparently the Smurfs just don’t do it for America any more…  The sure do it for the foreign markets though.  “Smurfs: The Lost Village” may have only managed a paltry $13 million in the states but it pulled a whopping $42 million internationally.  A $55 million opening weekend isn’t nothing and with 75% of that coming outside the good ole USofA, the newest Smurfs flick is just the next entry in a long line of recent movies that crush it overseas but just don’t find an audience stateside.

#4 – Going in Style – $11,932,330 – New Release

going_in_style
Actual photo of main cast collecting their paychecks for making this movie

I don’t really know what to say about this one.  This movie was nowhere on my radar and I figured the same for most of the movie going public.  I guess this flick had enough star power and at least some recognition from the 1979 original to get some butts in seats.  With an opening weekend like this, “Going in Style” will probably at least crack $50 million for it’s box office run and with a production budget of $24 million, that’s not bad.

#5 – Ghost in the Shell – $7,306,413 – 60.9% Drop

ghost_in_the_shell
Ghost in the Shell?  More like ghosts in the theater! HAHA, Amiright? Hello?  Is this thing on…..

Dropping 60% after an abysmal opening weekend probably translates to box office flop for this one.  Combined with it’s international grosses, “Ghost in the Shell” has made it’s production budget back but with “The Fate of the Furious” hitting theaters next week, it’s tough to see how this much anticipated anime adaptation will warrant even a passing thought about a sequel.

-Personal Note – “Power Rangers” is in roughly the same boat as “Ghost in the Shell” – It’s made it’s production budget back but is still a far cry from warranting a sequel….  Regardless, after I get through reviewing the entire “Fast & Furious” franchise, I am planning on writing an article on what I’d like to see in “Power Rangers 2” and beyond – look for that next week!

Alright Beardlings, that’s it for this week.  Next week, I’ll do my level best to keep my personal bias out of the predictions and see if that helps me get a bit closer to predicting the fickle world of movie money.

Until next time, Thank You for reading and….

SEE YOU AT THE CINEMA!

Leave a Reply

