Here we are again on a fabulous Friday morning and that means it’s time for Weekend Box Office Predictions! There’s really only one big story for this weekend but I’ll do my level best to present this week’s predictions with all the sarcasm and snark that you have come to expect at WildeBeard Reviews my dear readers!

Let’s get into it!

#1 – The Fate of the Furious – $145,000,000 – New Release

FF8
After seeing this poster, I was surprised to discovered that this movie is in fact NOT about bald guys lamenting their lack of hair…..

Alright so this one is the very definition of a no brainer and when I say no brainer, I mean picking this to absolutely crush the box office not that the movie itself is has no brain (Deliver sarcasm and snark: Mission Accomplished).  “Furious 7” opened with $147.3 million and I expect this to do about the same.  “Furious 7” had the bittersweet benefit of the unfortunate death of Paul Walker during filming giving it an insane amount of publicity that “The Fate of the Furious” just doesn’t have.  I was tempted to peg this around the $130 million mark but I think with schools and businesses being closed for Good Friday people will have more time to go to the movies and thus “Fate” will probably open just under “Furious 7”.

#2 – Boss Baby – $17,000,000 – 35%~ Drop

Boss-Baby-poster
Fool me once, shame on me, fool me twice, shame on me, fool me thrice……

I’ve underestimated “Boss Baby” since it came out, well not this time. Monday through Wednesday this week, “Boss Baby” has beaten out “Beauty and the Beast” so I have no reason to believe that it won’t carry that through to the weekend.  Most movies drop around 45-50% week over week with some bad movies dropping up to 60%. Just like “The Fate of the Furious”, I’m predicting that this one will flatten out that curve due to Good Friday viewings and family outings after Easter lunches.

#3 – Beauty and the Beast – $15,370,000 – 35% Drop

Beauty-Beast-2017-Movie-Posters
Can we just make “Disney” a line item paycheck deduction and skip the middle man?

Over the last couple days, Disney’s behemoth cracked the billion dollar mark surprising exactly no one.  I expect “Beauty and the Beast” will top out around $1.25 billion when all is said and done.  At this point, B&B is all alone in the billion dollar club but I suspect there will be at least one or two more films joining it by years end, namely the aforementioned “The Fate of the Furious” and probably “Transformers: The Last Knight”.  “Star Wars: The Last Jedi” will certainly crack the billion dollar mark but probably not until a few weeks into 2018.

#4 – Smurfs: The Lost Village – $7,250,00 – 45% Drop

smurfs

I’m dropping this one a little harder this week because it completely under performed in it’s opening week and I have heard pretty much nothing about it since last weekend.  It looks like this movie has already made it’s money back with most of it coming from over seas.  It will be interesting to see if it ends up with enough cash to justify a sequel.  Time will tell.

#5 – Going in Style – $7,000,000 – 41% Drop

going_in_style
Let’s rob this bank real quick and we can make the senior special at Denny’s

Well if you read last week’s predictions and subsequent Box Office Breakdown, you’ll know that I completely underestimated this movie.  I’ve finally seen a few promotions for it but nothing that’s making me want to run out and drop theater money on it, I’ll probably check this one out when it hits Redbox or one of the many streaming services I have.  This is one of those movies that gets made pretty cheaply ($25 million) and hopes to at least double that by the end of it’s run (already at $20 million globally in it’s first full week).

That’s it for this week folks! Are you planning on going to the movies with family this weekend?  What are you going to see?  What’s your go to movie snack?  The classic popcorn or a nice box of Sour Patch Kids?

Be sure to like, follow, subscribe, to WildeBeard Reviews on WordPress, Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram!

Stay tuned throughout the weekend to catch my reviews of the 5th, 6th, and 7th installments in the “Fast and Furious” series!

Until next time, Thank You for reading and….

SEE YOU AT THE CINEMA!

Leave a Reply

