It’s Friday morning and that means it’s time for another round of “shots in the dark” otherwise known as the Weekend Box Office Predictions!  I found this week especially difficult in slots #2-5 as there are a slew of smaller films coming out this week, all looking to knock off family friendly power houses “Boss Baby” and “Beauty and the Beast”

Let’s get into it!

#1 – The Fate of the Furious – $55,000,000 – 44.5% Drop

FF8
Coming in 2019 – “The Fastier and Furiousier” 

There’s nothing coming out this weekend that can even come close to the level of popularity that the “Fast and Furious” series has going for it.  I fully expect “The Fate of the Furious” to absolutely crush the box office again both in the States and in foreign markets.  As of Wednesday (4/19/17), “Fate” has made a whopping $685 million globally and I truly think it has the potential to break a billion in it’s first two weekends which is just absolutely insane.  I feel so confident that it will break into the billion club that I bet a friend and fellow movie buff two dozen donuts on it.  Don’t fail me, I want free donuts! #KrispyKreme

#2 – Unforgettable – $18,000,000 – New Release

unforgettable
Unforgettable?  I see irony is alive and well in 2017

I think, THINK, I saw a preview for this one when I saw either “Split” or “Get Out” (both of which are fucking amazing) and I thought at the time that “Unforgettable” looked like it had the production quality of a late night made-for-cable movie and had the acting quality to match (which is hard to say because I adore Rosario Dawson).  Seriously, this movie looks like it got lost on the way to the bargain bin and accidentally wandered into a theater.  This one will make some cash because people like thrillers and recognize Dawson from the Marvel Netflix shows, Katherine Heigl as that blonde that got written off “Grey’s Anatomy”, and the male lead that I vaguely remember from flipping past later series episodes of “7th Heaven”.

#3 – Phoenix Forgotten – $15,000,000 – New Release

Phoenix-Forgotten-poster
I had forgotten what grainy VHS tape looked like, so thanks (?) for reminding me…..

“Phoenix Forgotten” follows the story of three teens that disappear into the Arizona desert after deciding to go investigate suspected UFO sightings.  I hadn’t seen a trailer for this one (I am not even remotely close to being a horror fan minus the aforementioned “Split” and “Get Out”) so this one didn’t pop on my radar at all.  And the trailer didn’t do anything to make me want to rush out and see this flick.  I love sci-fi but this looks like it is just another in a long line of found footage horror movies with just enough of a sci-fi edge to maybe fall into that category when this inevitably hits Netflix.  I have this pegged to make as much as I do simply because I know that horror usually makes at least SOME bank at the box office, even if it doesn’t look great.

#4 – Free Fire – $13,500,000 – New Release

free-fire
PEW PEW PEW

Ok now here is a movie I can’t wait to see.  Unlike the previous two entries, that will likely live up to the ‘forget’ in both of their titles, “Free Fire” looks to be the kind of violent, dark humored, sarcastic movie that is right up my alley. If you haven’t seen the trailer for this, I highly recommend looking it up just to get a feel for what is going on. Aside from looking hysterical, this movie has an amazing cast – Brie Larson, Armie Hammer, Sharlto Copley, and Cillian Murphy?  Hot damn, that cast could win a Best Picture Oscar with the right script and director.  I’m not saying that this will be that movie, but if “The Fate of the Furious” wasn’t getting my movie money this weekend, this one would be.

#5 – Boss Baby – $8,000,000 – 50%~ Drop

Boss-Baby-poster
Time for a #2…. and I don’t mean a sequel….

I think “Boss Baby” hold on to the #5 spot this week. There are a couple more new releases this weekend, one is only showing on 2,252 screens and is a romance set during the end of the Ottoman Empire (#boring) and the other, Disney’s newest nature film “Born in China”, is only opening on 1,508 screens while Dreamworks’ latest cash machine will be on around 3,700 screens.  While both of those will make money, I believe that the big budget, big studio “Boss Baby” still has enough juice in it’s bottle to eek out the #5 spot this week.

That’s it for this week folks! Getting a number of smaller releases as we sit on the cusp of the summer movie season made this weekend hard to pin down.  We’ll see come Monday just how wrong my predictions were and whether or not I’m making the donut run for the office this week.

Be sure to like, follow, and subscribe to WildeBeard Reviews on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram and until next time..

Thank You for reading, and

SEE YOU AT THE CINEMA!

Leave a Reply

